Under the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) there are 7 areas of learning that shape the educational programmes for early years settings.

All the areas are important and interconnected but 3 of the areas are particularly crucial for igniting children's curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building on their capacity to learn and thrive.

The 3 Prime areas are:
Communication and Language
Physical development
Personal, Social and Emotional development

There are also a further 4 Specific areas through which the prime areas are strengthened and applied:
Understanding the world
Expressive arts and design

If you would like more in depth information about the Early Years Foundation please visit http://www.foundationyears.org.uk

We understand that children learn at different rates and arrive at pre-school with a variety of experiences. At Gosling's, we aim to provide a wide selection of activities to engage the children in something that appeals to them. We then build on the familiar, taking the learning to a higher level where they start to apply new ideas and challenge themselves through play.

Sometimes parents worry that their child shows an unusually strong preference for a particular toy, usually Thomas the Tank engine! They are concerned that they may not try out other areas of Gosling's and will not make the most of their time with us. Please rest assured that it is very common and our staff are adept at encouraging them to try out new things and, that given the right support, they will explore other areas.

It must be remembered that none of these areas of learning and development can be delivered in isolation from the others. They are equally important, and depend on each other to support a rounded approach to child development. All the areas are delivered through planned, purposeful play, with a balance of adult led and child initiated activities.